A Sunday afternoon called 1 January 2017

It was a Sunday afternoon. I was sitting in the usual coffee shop I often visit. Nothing special about it except it’s a day everyone celebrate. It’s the beginning of a new year.

To be honest, I don’t really know what I’m trying to write here, but I just had the hunch that I should write something. Just to kill time. Just to make me feel like I’m doing something productive. Just to make me forget what I’m feeling now (and failed horribly because it makes me think more of it).

Because it’s a new year, maybe I should just write something easy. Something a lot of people do every new year, and that is to write the summary of last year and what I’m hoping to achieve in the next.

2016 was a year a lot of people despise. Some big names in the entertainment industry passed away, a weird hateful man was elected to be the most powerful man in the world, war is still happening, and somehow social media became more harmful than ever.

It starts with a lot of good stuff for me personally. It’s the perk of being born in January I guess.

It was the year in which I started smoking, experienced the biggest emotional roller coaster in my life yet (that ended well thankfully), and found a glimmering hope that can make me smile no matter what I’m going through.

It was also the year that taught me a lot of stuff. A year that forced me to try to be a better person in a hard way, something that I’m still working on, and I don’t think I’m doing it well enough.

It ends with a big question that I hope will yield good answer. It also ends with a big announcement that makes me feel excited about the future and sad (a good kind of sadness) about the past.

Overall, 2016 was an important year. Definitely a year that I will never forget, because it will be stupid for me to forget everything, good or bad, this year has taught me.

So, what is my hope for 2017? I don’t know. I just wish this year to be a good year for everyone in the world, but that would be impossible. It should be easy to top 2016 though, but I can be wrong.

But I do have high hopes for 2017. Here I am, sitting alone in a coffee shop next to a cute girl with △ ▢ ◯ tattoo. Add an X and it will be a perfect tattoo set. Maybe it’s a sign for an almost perfect year? Let’s hope so.

Anyway, happy new year!

Leave a Reply

